Results from the 2015 O. Henry Pun-Off

Even in the face of inclement weather, Saturday saw perhaps the largest crowd for an O. Henry Pun-Off World Championships in history. The audience was treated (or subjected) to an epic eight hours of competition.

The video from the competition is being uploaded to YouTube as I type this. Right now, the gating factor is horrible U-verse upload speeds, so it may be a few days until everything is uploaded.

I’ll link to the highlights from here, but you’ll be able to see it all on my O. Henry Pun-Off 2015 channel.

In the meantime, here are the results…

At the Friday evening ceremonies, Brian Oakley was named Punster of the Year by Punsters United Nearly Yearly (P.U.N.Y.). Brian a retired competitor in the Pun-Off, won Punslingers back in 2005, and has been the Punslingers topic wrangler (a thankless job) for many years since.

In Punniest of Show, the winners were Ben Ziek (1st), Southpaw Jones (2nd) and Gy Odom (3rd).

In Punslingers, Ben Ziek defeated Jerzy Gwiazdowski in a final that ran a full forty-five minutes. Semifinalists were Matt Pollock and Brian Agler.

Jerzy was also given the McClughan Memorial Most Viable Punster Award (mmMVP), which is voted by the contestants.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *